Day: September 7, 2013

The “Baccy” doesn’t have to be Wacky!

Yes, I know there are bigger and more important spiritual issues that I could be talking about; and no, I don’t mean to sound picky, or like the government, or even like your parents when you were a teenager – but I do mean to sound like a friend when I say, “If you smoke, kick the habit!”

As someone who has witnessed the awful effects of emphysema and cancer first hand, and as someone (if I personally know you) who may have to sit beside your hospital bed while you cough up one or both of your lungs in the future, I’m telling you that you can’t go wrong by snipping that stick right in butt.

Smoking is just plain awful for your health, and for the health of those around you. Most people think smoking causes them to relax, but in reality it makes it harder for you to breathe, raises your blood pressure and alters your ability to function normally without it. Nicotine is not a therapist who cares about you!

As Christians, our body is God’s temple on both the outside and the inside:

Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20 – NKJV)

And don’t forget, the smoke that filled and glorified the old temple didn’t come from ashtrays.

I don’t say any of this to belittle, shame or make fun of anyone – I say what I say because I care and because the “baccy” doesn’t have to be wacky for it to be bad stuff. EA

Let everything which has breath give praise to the Lord. Let the Lord be praised.” (Psalm 150:6 – BBE)