If the majority of Christians were actually half-hearted…

If the majority of Christians were actually half-hearted, the attendance numbers for Sunday evening worship services would be higher.

If the majority of Christians were actually half-hearted, whether their child is a toddler or a teenager, Christian parents would look at Bible classes the way they look at math, science and social studies.

If the majority of Christians were actually half-hearted, the church wouldn’t have to beg for volunteers.

If the majority of Christians were actually half-hearted, our neighbors would hear more invitations to come learn about Jesus.

If the majority of Christians were actually half-hearted, the average yearly contribution wouldn’t be less than half the percentage that Abraham gave.

I’m not saying that half-hearted is a good thing, I’m saying that half-hearted may be too much credit for the majority of Christians. You can accuse me of judging hearts if you like – I’m just looking at what’s coming out of all the treasuries. EA

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:21)

5 comments

    1. Thanks, Doc.

      I’m convinced that if an individual has/gets no motivation in their heart when the Spirit, through the gospel, speaks to them about their situation then there is nothing that I can say or do to change it. I am begrudgingly getting out of the business of “trying to change someone’s heart” for them and I am trying to just follow 2 Timothy 4:2 to the best of my ability and resign the outcome to God. Because to be completely honest with you, whenever I don’t do that I want to quit preaching.

      For thousands of years the half-heartedness of others has been a plague to the people of God who have tried to be motivators of others. But at the end of day I suppose Galatians 6:1-5 applies to every situation.

Leave a Reply

