An Open Letter to my Erring brothers and sisters in Christ

“I just don’t have the time.” “I will one of these days.” “I’m not quite feeling up to getting out.” “I’m always working.”

These sentiments, and others similar to them, are the responses that get expressed to me time and time again when I tell an erring brother or sister in Christ that I’ve been missing them at worship services. And while I don’t question the sincerity of the absentee’s answers, I do question the consistency, or the lack thereof, of absences from other areas of life.

For example, when I tell people that I have been missing them I’m telling them because I see them:

  • at the grocery store
  • at the bank
  • at the hospital
  • at gas stations
  • at restaurants
  • at their job
  • at the funeral home
  • at local sporting/community events

For some reason worship can’t fit into their schedule, but these can?

Now some of you may say those are necessities – a person can’t stop doing those! And to that I would say don’t confuse what’s being doing with what needs to be done.

Oh erring one, remember your father; come back to where you need to be (Luke 15:18-24). EA

And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching.” (Hebrews 10:24-25)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

