What A Difference A Day Can Make

For those of you reading this today, tomorrow is going to be the 11th day of September; hopefully a date that all reasonably aged Americans remember, for tomorrow will be the 12th anniversary of the horrible terrorist attacks on New York and Washington, and of the plane that went down into that Pennsylvania field.

If you’re like most people, the images of that day are probably seared into your mind. I can remember that day clearly. I remember the weather, the voices on the radio station that I was listening to when the news broke, and I can even remember the driveway that I was pulling into at that moment. I also remember that my relationship with God wasn’t right. Most of all, I remember the uncertainty of that day.

All because of the false faith and very real hate of a handful of people, some three thousand people lost their lives that day with countless others being personally affected by it up to this very moment.

I have often wondered about the people who lost their lives in the attacks. For them September the 10th was business as usual. Families, friends and jobs were left that evening with all expectations of being seen again the next day. The morning after probably started out just like the one before with one major difference – that day, their today, would come with no tomorrow on the Earth! Their present became their future in a very unexpected and heartbreaking way.

There is no doubt that God heard the voices of millions of strangers that day; mine own included. I suppose in many ways it was no different than any other day.

One lesson that finite humanity always needs to be reminded of is that the infinite Lord teaches that we never know what tomorrow will bring (Proverbs 27:1) and that today, the day we have at this moment, this is the day of salvation (2 Corinthians 6:2). Why so many of us leave things up to “chance” I suppose I’ll never understand, but one thing is certain: God doesn’t want us to wait for tomorrow to be made right with Him!

We don’t fully know what the people who died on September 11th had planned on doing that day, but we do know it was never done. And we never know when that changing day for us may be the tomorrow around the corner.

God willing, tomorrow will be September the 11th, 2013 for both you and I. That is, unless this is the day that will make a big difference in our tomorrow.

Please continue to pray for the patience and longsuffering and providence and healing of Almighty God for our government, for our country, for our soldiers and for those who are still wounded from the attacks made on the day that made such a difference. EA

Seek the Lord when he can still be found; call him while he is yet near. Let the wicked abandon their ways and the sinful their schemes. Let them return to the Lord so that he may have mercy on them, to our God, because he is generous with forgiveness. My plans aren’t your plans, nor are your ways my ways, says the Lord. Just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my plans than your plans.” (Isaiah 55:6-9 – CEB)

7 comments

    1. It is amazing how much control we think we have over our lives until something “big/earth shaking/world rocking” comes along to say otherwise isn’t it? Reminds me of the song we sing from time to time called “I Need Thee Every Hour.”

  1. Powerful reminder! Thank you for posting. I remember exactly what I was doing the moment the news flashed to the first crash. I needed this – a call to take each moment & thought captive for Christ.

Leave a Reply

