The Lifeguard of Our Soul

The first stanza of James Rowe’s song “Love Lifted Me” goes, “I was sinking deep in sin, far from the peaceful shore, very deeply stained within, sinking to rise no more; but the master of the sea heard my despairing cry, from the waters lifted me – now safe am I.

Besides Jesus, two other people always come to mind when I sing this song.

The first person is Peter and the situation described in Matthew 14:22-33. I visualize what it must have looked like for Peter to have stepped out of that boat and onto the open and stormy water and the faith that it took to do so. I also visualize what it must have looked like as he lost his focus, became afraid and began to sink into the deep. Then I visualize what it looked like when Jesus stretched forth his hand to lift him up and keep him afloat until they reached the boat. Lastly, I think about what Peter may have thought when Jesus asked why he doubted and how he grew in his faith from the experience.

After I think about Peter, I think about myself and how Christ has called me to Him and the faith that it took to respond. I also think of how I falter and begin to “sink” when I pay too much attention to what is happening around me and not enough attention to where Christ wants me to go. Then I think of how quick and willing Jesus is to reach out His hand through His grace and keep me from the eternal consequences of my sin. Lastly, I think about what causes me to doubt and how I can grow in my faith from my experiences.

The song “Love Lifted Me” finishes by saying, “Souls in danger look above, Jesus completely saves; He will life you by His love out of the angry waves. He’s the master of the sea, billows His will obey; He your Savior wants to be – be saved today.

It’s not the gospel verbatim but it is the gospel in essence. Has God’s “Lifeguard of the Soul” rescued you? EA

“…if you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes unto righteousness, and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.” (Romans 10:9-10)

And now why are you waiting? Arise and be baptized, and wash away your sins, calling on the name of the Lord.’” (Acts 22:16)

5 comments

    1. Most of my favorite songs are songs that are 50-100 years my senior. Although it’s not the case in every situation, I believe many of the song writers in the past did a wonderful job taking scriptural themes and putting them into practical words for people’s lives; sadly I don’t think this is something that can be said about the same percentage of religious songs written today.

      Thanks for commenting, Ernie.

Leave a Reply

