Do People Today Receive a Special Revelation from God?

Men and women who claimed to have received a “special revelation” from God have written entire Creed Books and even so-called additional “Testaments” of Jesus. Is it not unusual that all the people who have received these “messages from the same God” all received different instructions, different missions, different names, different commandments and different leaders?

Even though the above is true they insist that we believe that God, who cannot lie (Titus 1:1-3) and who has spoken with His final word through His Son (Hebrews 1:1-2), continues to contradict Himself by repeatedly telling different individuals “a new and different way” to find salvation contrary to what the Bible says. Well, what does a person do when they do not like the rules? They make a new rulebook! They say, “two” where God’s word says, “one” (Ephesians 4:4-6).

Concerning such possible mentalities, the apostle Paul said:

I marvel that ye are so soon removed from him that called you into the grace of Christ unto another gospel: Which is not another; but there be some that trouble you, and would pervert the gospel of Christ. But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed. As we said before, so say I now again, If any man preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed. For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ. But I certify you, brethren, that the gospel which was preached of me is not after man. For I neither received it of man, neither was I taught it, but by the revelation of Jesus Christ.” (Galatians 1:6-12).

Paul said he delivered “the certified gospel” from God. According to what you just read, what do you think Paul would say about these so-called modern-day “special revelations” that contradict what he wrote and preached, but are supposedly still from God?

If any “church” or individual uses something other than God’s word they do not have the foundation of God’s apostles and prophets. If they do not have the foundation of God’s apostles and prophets they do not have the “Chief Cornerstone.” If they do not have the “Chief Cornerstone” they do not have Christ. If they do not have Christ, they have nothing. This is the inevitable conclusion that Paul drew when he said in Ephesians 2:19,20:

Now, therefore, you are no longer strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God, having been built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ Himself being the chief cornerstone,”

God’s word is not only holy, it’s wholly and completely sufficient for what the church needs concerning God’s revealed will for His people and for the rest of mankind (2 Peter 1:1-3 and Jude 3).

Please realize that you are getting the wrong signal if you think you are getting a special message directly from God today. The Holy Spirit continues to speak to people for sure, but it is through His written word, the Holy Bible, not by special revelation to “later day prophets” (Romans 10:17).

When a person “reveals” what is already written then no “revealing” has taken place, and when a person “reveals” something that has not been written the only thing being “revealed” is their lack of acceptance and an abundance of unbelief toward what has already been revealed by God in His word.

All souls are special to God, but so-called modern-day revelations “from God” are not!

Think about it. EA

4 comments

  1. Michael, I do not agree with you, neither does God. He used special revelation in biblical times to the latter day prophets, why wouldn’t he today?? How can one be revelealed who they are in Gods eyes and what category they fit in with their salvation. What I’m talking about here is the fact that Yahweh isn’t going to be sending everybody to Heaven when they die. Not everybody is meant to go to heaven for as it is written in the bible- Matthew 22:14 for their are many called but few are chosen I only say this because I recieved a very special one from Yahweh myself. He told me that I’m going to help fight satan in a battle. This was in 2008 when the sun was totally charged and emmited many rays. He told me that I was chosen as a weak one to become strong for him. As one rejected but then picked specifically for a special harvest. It is something kind of inexplicable that happened to me. This revelation was to let me know who I am to him, and where I’m going. I heard him singing to me in the sky. I sound crazy I know. This was all one big experience made up of 5 incidences. The purpose of this special experience was for him to let me know for sure that I was going to be with him in the heavens and reign and rule with him as a son of God. This is all so far away, but I know what I have to do to prepare for this. I wish I was able to explain better what exactly happened to me, but I guess it doesn’t matter. . Point is- I know who I am now, and I know what I have to do, and why I’m here on this planet.

    1. Hi, Lauren, and thanks for commenting.

      First, I want you to know that my name is Eugene and not Michael, so your track record for getting things straight isn’t starting out too good.

      Second, although I’m going to attempt to answer your questions/statements, I want you to know how this discussion on “special revelations” could easily end. I could easily tell you that I received a special revelation too. It told me that you’re a false prophet who does not know the truth and that I’d be wasting my time replying to you and then you couldn’t come up with anything else other than another “special revelation” that says I’m wrong, and then the cycle would just keep going round and round with no end. See what I’m saying?

      But I’m not going to do that, so here you go:

      1) You say God does not agree with me yet you have not proven that to me. I have talked with scripture, but you have not talked about anything other than your personal experiences. Faith does not come from personal experiences; faith comes from listening to and believing in God’s Word that He has revealed in the Bible through the Gospel of Jesus (Romans 10:8, 17).

      2) According to your logic any person who says they received a “special revelation” would be telling the truth. That means Ellen White, Joseph Smith, Harold Camping and any other person who had visions of “harvest” and started their own version of the church were all telling the truth…because after all, according to them, they knew who they were and why they were put on this planet too, right? That is except for their whole “prophetic predictions” thing not coming to pass – please don’t make the same mistake, Lauren. Listen to God’s word in the Bible and God’s word alone and you’ll be fine.

      3) You do know that your “special revelation” about everyone not going to Heaven isn’t that special, right? God’s word already teaches that in multiple places, one of which is Matthew 7:13-14: “Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.” So the only thing you did there was prove one of my points that said people who claim special revelations often times just try to proclaim something that isn’t actually new, but they try to claim the credit anyways.

      4) Your experience sounds very familiar to the apostle Paul’s. Just saying.

      5) You, or anyone else for that matter, don’t have to have a special revelation to know why you’re here. Ecclesiastes 12:14 spells that out plain enough: “Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God and keep His commandments,for this is man’s all.

      6) You, or anyone else for that matter, don’t have to have a special revelation to be able to become a son (child) of God or to reign with Him in His kingdom. People have lived and are living and will be living as sons of God by believing in Jesus (John 1:12) and by joining God in His kingdom through the church like the first century Christians did (Revelation 1:5, Colossians 1:12-13).

      7) Point is – I know who I am, and I know why I am here on this planet, and I know that the above article was given with scriptural evidence; something that’s sorely lacking, and in fact even contradicting, in your case of personal experience that didn’t really reveal anything at all.

      8) You don’t need a special revelation to know whether or not you’re saved. Build your life upon the rock of Jesus’ words (Matthew 7:24-27) and read the revealed will of God in His word – “These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternal life, and that you may continue to believe in the name of the Son of God.” (1 John 5:13)

      God bless in the study of His word.

Leave a Reply

