When Our Conscience Takes the Witness Stand

I tell the truth in Christ, I am not lying, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Spirit,” (Romans 9:1, NKJV)

Not all consciences are worth the right hand they raise. Some are useful and others are useless.

A conscience is like a knife. It has to be sharpened to be useful. All knives are knives, but you don’t use a butter knife to filet a fish and you don’t use a seared conscience to determine what’s right and what’s wrong (1 Timothy 4:2).

The proper sharpening stone for the conscience of men and women is the word of God. It is never dull and when our conscience is less than honest, God’s word remains a faithful and true witness (Hebrews 4:12). The ears of those who listen can be dull, but God’s word is not (Matthew 13:14-16).

When our conscience takes the stand against us we would do well to listen (Romans 14:19-23) for the words of our conscience may ring loud on the day of judgment (Romans 14:7-13).

If we con our conscience too many times we might just find ourselves being the ones who get taken advantage of! EA

Now whom you forgive anything, I also forgive. For if indeed I have forgiven anything, I have forgiven that onefor your sakes in the presence of Christ, lest Satan should take advantage of us; for we are not ignorant of his devices.” (2 Corinthians 2:10-11)

7 comments

  1. “All knives are knives, but you don’t use a butter knife to filet a fish and you don’t use a seared conscience to determine what’s right and what’s wrong”

    Nice! I think it’s amazing and sad to hear someone challenge the immorality of something that should be a no-brainer. You want to ask “what’s wrong with you that you think there’s nothing wrong with what you’re doing?”

    1. I agree, but, as you’re well aware some don’t want to live up to any standard because then that would mean there’s actually a standard to live by morally speaking.

      Thanks for commenting, John.

  2. A conscience is like a knife. It has to be sharpened to be useful. All knives are knives, but you don’t use a butter knife to filet a fish and you don’t use a seared conscience to determine what’s right and what’s wrong (1 Timothy 4:2). Now that’s something powerful right there my man. Hmmm Hmmm Hmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1. Thanks, Michael.

      I came up with it a few years ago while preaching a sermon on the conscience. One of my elders is a good fisher man, and I asked him during the sermon if he had ever filleted a fish with a butter knife, and of course his answer was, ‘no.’ To that I replied, “Why not, it’s a knife.” It’s always stuck with me. I was thinking about it this morning so I decided to pass it along. Use it however you can to help spread God’s truth.

Leave a Reply

