A Great “Fortune” Cookie

I got a great fortune cookie today with my lunch! It said, “A gambler not only will lose what he has, but also will lose what he doesn’t have.

I agree whole-heartedly! So many individuals and families have been damaged by gambling in ways that no jackpot could ever repair. Gambling digs more holes than ladders can be built. It breaks the bank, the wallet, the heart and the soul. Gambling is a plague on the poor, the home and the senses.

But the “funny” thing about the “fortune” that I got was that the “lucky numbers” were still on the back. Makes one wonder???

He who is hard on the poor puts shame on his Maker; but he who has mercy on those who are in need gives him honour.” (Proverbs 14:21BBE)

Poverty and shame will come to him who disdains correction, But he who regards a rebuke will be honored.” (Proverbs 13:18 – NKJV)

Put far from me all false and foolish things: do not give me great wealth or let me be in need, but give me only enough food: For fear that if I am full, I may be false to you and say, Who is the Lord? or if I am poor, I may become a thief, using the name of my God wrongly.” (Proverbs 30:8-9 – BBE)

2 comments

  1. I have never had one with at message in it. Usually it is about something great that is going to happen to you. Six years ago I was on staff at a church and we had lunch together every day. One of the places we went provided fortune cookies. Well, after we ate, we took turns reading out loud our fortune. Our senior pastor always had something that had to do with lots of money. After reading it, he would – “aha, this is the will of God for me.” Those were fun days!

    1. I totally agree that most of them are great for a good laugh or two; but I thought this one was excellent. Besides Bible verses, probably the next best thing for people to read would be sound financial advice like that one had.

Leave a Reply

