You Can’t Teach Common Sense

Here is a warning on my daughter’s kiddie pool. Keep in mind that the “deep end” of the pool holds about 2 inches of water!

I know at times that warnings are good and much-needed (I personally know someone who burned himself by ironing his clothes while wearing them!), but the simple fact is that you can’t hardly teach a person common sense.

If someone thinks it’s a good idea to dive into 2 to 3 inches of water, then what words could a person possibly use to keep them from doing it??? EA

The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, But he who heeds counsel is wise.” (Proverbs 12:15) “Understanding is a wellspring of life to him who has it. But the correction of fools is folly….There is a way that seems right to a man, But its end is the way of death.” (Proverbs 16:22, 25)

6 comments

  1. When my wife and I see warnings like this, we say “Sometime in the past…Somebody thought it was a good idea to do it.” Just think how many lives have been saved by that warning….
    But truth be told…I still have the tag on my mattress that says “do not remove under penalty of law”

    Thanks for the humor!

    1. I get your jist. After all, I mentioned that I personally know a guy who burned himself while trying to iron the clothes that he was wearing.

      As to the sign on the pool, if a person has it in his/her head that diving into 2-3 inches is a good idea, then I don’t think there’s a warning that’ll change it. :)

      Thanks for the comment, Steven.

Leave a Reply

