If You Could See Your Sand

As a kid I could get mesmerized by a sand timer. It’s such a simple device made of simple parts, but the way it keeps up with such a complicated thing like time still captures my attention.

Sand timers point out a simple but important fact— whether we see it or not, time is passing by and it’s piling up right in front of our face. Moses penned long ago, “So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom” (Psalms 90:12). More than likely, Moses had quite a bit more sand than you or I have but his sand still ran out.

If you could see the sand that represents all the time that you have in life passing by in front of you, would it cause you to do things differently? Would you appreciate each grain more? Would the “big things” seem a little smaller and the “little things” seem bigger? Would you think more often about what will happen when that sand runs out?

What we do with the sand we are given is important because one thing is for sure, after the sand runs out here there won’t be any need for it in the hereafter. EA

And these will go away into everlasting punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.Matthew 25:46

8 comments

  1. Whenever I think of the world and its increasingly carnal ways, I’m reminded of Paul’s words in Romans 1:18-32 and remind myself that all there is left to do is pray. Otherwise I’m afraid, these souls are lost.

  2. Billy Graham was once asked as he looked back on his life what he thought. His answer was almost immediate, and has forever caused me to keep my own life in perspective. He said “I am surprised with the brevity!” It was a simple reply but it spoke volumes to me; Billy was in his 70s at the time. Now you have given me another picture for consideration. Egg timers point to “Time’s up!” The sands of time are running out. I know this for a fact, but I didn’t have the clear picture of an hour glass or a 3 min. egg timer. It makes one think of how much time we have left to do the thing we want to do, and urges us to cry out in prayer for help. Lord bless.

Leave a Reply

