A Heavenly Reward

The Hebrew Christians were told, “for you had compassion on me in my chains, and joyfully accepted the plundering of your goods, knowing that you have a better and an enduring possession for yourselves in Heaven.Therefore do not cast away your confidence, which has great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that after you have done the will of God, you may receive the promise:” (Hebrews 10:34-36).

Although we may not experience the same exact set of circumstances as our Hebrew brothers and sisters did, we still need to be reminded of the difference in the material rewards of earth and the Heavenly reward that God has in store for His people. There may be times when we experience things that cause us to question Christianity and our faith in “the faith” (Galatians 2:16; Jude vs.3) and our lives feel one big car wreck. After all, the reason the Hebrew letter was written was because there were Christians who were considering leaving the faith of Jesus for the old ways of Judaism due to Christianity’s growing unpopularity. The letter’s message is that when it comes to God’s dealings with His people it does not get any better than Jesus. Read Hebrews 1 and then look up how many times the word “better” is used throughout the entire letter.

Life may not always seem to be fair even though we strive to do the good that pleases God. But we must remember that God’s people are not always rewarded here on earth just as the evil of others is not always repaid in this life either (just read Psalm 73 for a powerful inspired thought on these two sentences).

Now back to the reward of faithfulness and its lesson for us. Take Abel’s faith for example! Abel just so happens to be the first person mentioned in the very next chapter of Hebrews (which has been labeled by many as “the hall of the faithful”). Keep Abel in mind and his faithfulness to God’s word and will and think about these questions for a moment:

What happened to Abel because of his faithfulness? What worldly reward did Abel receive? How did Abel profit materially because of the sacrifice he made to God? How peaceful did Abel’s life become because of his faithfulness? Yet we are still called to listen to his example because it still speaks of a reward…just not an earthly one!

Abel’s reward was a Heavenly reward and it’s the same reward we are encouraged to keep in mind as God’s people (Hebrews 11:4). Stay faithful. EA

5 comments

  1. Good evening Bro. Eugene, just a quick note to say thanks for this post. I’m currently teaching the book of Hebrews where I Preach at. By the way; Who Do You Feel Wrote The Book Of Hebrews? Just Wondering. I went back to Psalms 73 and read it again to connect your points. Very True On Both Accounts. Thanks Again Bro.!! Godspeed!!

    1. Hey Michael. Isn’t that the question of questions when it comes to Hebrews? My first direction says Paul although places like 2:3,4 makes me wonder (but what is said there in no way keeps Paul absolutely from being the author perse) and also the absence of his customary introductions and conclusions that are found in the other letters attributed to him. Only major reason I contribute it to Paul is because he is the only writer that displays such an intricate connection between the OT and NT in any of the other letters we have. But no doubt others such as John (with his possible working knowledge of the Jewish priesthood, John 18:15,16, along with the other references of Jesus’ discussions with the Jews about the OT recorded in that particular letter) and even Peter (whom I don’t really hear mentioned at all as a possible author)could have had a reason to write it especially when you think about 1 Peter 1-2:10 or even others due to my sincere belief of the guidance of God’s Spirit in the words of His apostles/prophets. All in all the connection of the writer to Timothy (Hebrews 13:22,23) is something to keep in mind. All I can say with surety is that I am glad we have the letter to the Hebrews to read. It is Exodus, Deuteronomy and Leviticus all rolled into one with the added enlightenment of the preciousness of the New Covenant from God with all of mankind. There are so many things that are unique to the Hebrew letter that it makes it, along with John’s gospel and 1 & 2 Peter one of my favorite NT letters. My reply is a little long but you asked for it :) Take care Michael, and keep preaching the word and have fun in Hebrews…it’s there to have when a person loves to see Jesus in the OT.

  2. I am glad I’m on Christmas vacation so I have time to really digest your writing, which is a gift. I’ve been through a few years in the wilderness at work and with my health, but the Lord has pulled me through wonderfully, so I never think of Abel who was so much less fortunate in this life than me. But Abel, by far, has the greatest reward and one that all faithful people can receive if only they declare their faith in Christ. Nice work, Pastor.

    1. Thanks so much Scott for the compliment and kind words. Abel certainly has spiritual characteristics worth following that I think we (especially me) forget about at times. And just to clarify, I’m a preacher (and a deacon) at the congregation where I worship and not a pastor (but we do have two men who fulfill that role). I don’t meet the qualifications of a pastor but I enjoy serving as a preacher for the congregation. I hope you have a great Christmas vacation with your family and time off from work. Merry Christmas.

  3. “Life may not always seem to be fair even though we strive to do the good that pleases God. But we must remember that God’s people are not always rewarded here on earth just as the evil of others is not always repaid in this life either ” I CLING to thoughts like this EVERY day ~ it is what keeps me pressing forward, regardless of the circumstances. The reward of spending eternity with Jesus is what I seek. Thank you for another valuable post!

Leave a Reply

