Help for the weary, worn, troubled and tired…

There are moments in life when it seems as if we can become so weary, worn, troubled and tired that no amount of sleep can bring the refreshment and relief that we desire; that is, if sleep is even possible. Once when David was dealing with a particular personal struggle he prayed to God saying, “I am weary with my groaning; All night I make my bed swim; I drench my couch with my tears.” (Psalm 6:6)

The fact is that some troubles are brought our way by others, but at other times the fact that we bring our own problems to our door can be seen in David’s life. Whatever the case may be, the weariness and worn feelings that come our way from time to time mean that we are human.

People need help. We are all in need of help at one point or another. Whether we are dealing with family issues, financial problems, job scares, health woes, sinful weaknesses or any of the emotional hardships that can come along with those and many other troublesome situations, God can help. He is our help – “God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble.” (Psalm 46:1) Even the man who took out Goliath knew where his help came from. David said in Psalm 27:9, “Do not hide Your face from me; Do not turn Your servant away in anger; You have been my help; Do not leave me nor forsake me, O God of my salvation.” At another time when David sought God’s help, he prayed, “Be pleased, O Lord, to deliver me; O Lord, make haste to help me!” (Psalm 40:13)

There is much to be said about a person that turns first to God without giving it a second thought. It is similar to the hymn “Where Could I Go?” If you have not read or sang those words in a while, look them up and sing them out loud, or to yourself. It will definitely help to remind us where our help comes from.

When the problems of life become so large that it seems as if the “end” is near and you feel so tired that you cannot deal with it another day, God is still there. His hand can hold us up and get us to where we need to be. The Psalmist said in Psalm 94:17-19, “Unless the Lord had been my help, My soul would soon have settled in silence. If I say, “My foot slips,” Your mercy, O Lord, will hold me up. In the multitude of my anxieties within me, Your comforts delight my soul.

In Matthew 11:28 Jesus repeated all of these sentiments when He patiently offered His help to people who are emotionally, mentally, physically and spiritually weary, worn, troubled and tired. “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” What a Savior!  EA

4 Responses to “Help for the weary, worn, troubled and tired…”

  1. [...] Help for the weary, worn, troubled and tired… (keltonburgpreacher.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookStumbleUponDiggEmailTwitterRedditPrintLinkedInPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted on March 21, 2012, in Women, Photography, Devotions and tagged Gracefull Women Devotional, old churches, First Epistle to the Corinthians, Body of Christ, church, light of the world. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment [...]

  2. Good morning Bro.; Excellent Thoughts!!! Gal 6:9 “Be not weary in well doing….

    • Got to be leery of that “weary” don’t we. There are so many times when you read David’s words in the Psalms and you can see/hear the weariness in his life and heart…but he stayed faithful and was able to see God’s help when he needed it.

  3. Very nice article! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

